20140807-142712.jpg

The struggle of living without capitalizing on the knowledge and ability of a legal, easy way to earn an excellent income is hard for many women to turn away from this component of being an exotic dancer. No matter how much drama, how much relationships suffer or how terrible achy my body was from performing table dances for 30 songs straight which equal out to about 2 hours of high-impact aerobics.

I wanted to talk to someone about the issues of the club in a safe place with no judgement. I struggled with the isolation the adult entertainment world had wedged between all the people I loved. I was money hungry. But I never felt like that was a bad thing. I thought it meant there was a work ethic that was naturally thrusting me to go after the thing that would absolutely sustain and allow me to be the best person I can. I can give and provide for the people I loved the most. Why could wanting to be able to provide for my family be a bad thing?

Nobody talks about the bad side of the glamour lifestyle. Sometimes we get caught up on what everyone else thinks (all in the name of being a hustler with a “fie mouf piece”) to appeal to everyone… After all it is your job to appeal to as many as possible in the strip club environment but not outside.

Maybe you are in a place where you can separate the strip club life and your authentic life. As a stripper, it is healthy to understand how to keep your personal life safe from the strip club lifestyle. Maybe you want to talk about how to deal with customers who pressure and proposition you every week.

If you are interested in participating in the Transitioning Stripper Support group. Email me at scripturesforstrippers@gmail.com.

Peace and Blessings
Sayuri Smith

20140807-142828.jpg

Leave a Reply

