Some believe that women who work as adult entertainers are keeping themselves from God by participating in an obviously sinful profession and should not find God until they abandon their job. Others believe that God will not hear the prayers and cries of these women who are hurting on the inside and want peace, love and joy. Inquiring minds ask about the purpose of Scriptures for Strippers, the first and only devotional for adult entertainers is but what they really want to know is whether I am condemning or encouraging women with this book. That is a fair question and I quickly let anyone know that only God can judge a person and I understand my duty as a child of God, a member of the Kingdom of God and a witness to the power of God. I am supposed to give my testimony so that others may be free. It is not my job to “condemn” her but many think when I disregard her profession, I fail her. I personally understand every unmentionable battle because I used to be an exotic dancer myself. I was a dancer at for 15 years off and on and I totally get the struggle. If anyone agrees that I should be harshly admonishing and critcizing these women, I’d like to take this time to remind them of what the Bible says:

“Brothers (and sisters), if anyone is caught in any sin, you who are spiritual [that is, you who are responsive to the guidance of the Spirit] are to restore such a person in a spirit of gentleness [not with a sense of superiority or self-righteousness], keeping a watchful eye on yourself, so that you are not tempted as well.” GALATIANS 6:1 AMP

At the end of 2014, I left the club for the second time and was very despondent. I was isolated, depressed and chronically worried. I was so weary from working in the strip club to support myself and my toddler son. I tossed my dance bag in a dumpster at a carwash and just quit going to work. I told God I was done with that because it was depressing, draining and was driving a huge wedge between me and anything I wanted. I went to church and the preacher said there is a scripture for every struggle. He gave us an assignment to go home and make a list of scriptures for every weak area of our life.

I went home and made a list and Scriptures for Strippers was born. I know it is my duty to share what God has revealed to me because the Bible says:

“So do not be ashamed to testify about our Lord or about me His prisoner, but with me take your share of suffering for the gospel [continue to preach regardless of the circumstances], in accordance with the power of God [for His power is invincible]
2 TIMOTHY 1:8‭ AMP

Here are the 3 main purposes and points of Scriptures for Strippers: 

  1. Everyone deserves a relationship with God. Come close to God [with a contrite heart] and He will come close to you.” JAMES 4:8 AMP
    As a dancer, it is essential to have a relationship with God to guard against the demons that lurk in strip clubs. Many people regard the actual dancers as the demons who attempt to seduce men and destroy families by leading men astray when the fact of the matter is there are lost young women who seek to deal with spiritual deficiency and brokeness by becoming dancers. Other women dance for financial gain without weighing the the spiritual, mental and emotional costs. Honestly, there is no real way to know exactly what these women actually deal with unless you have been in the environment of the strip club personally. Having a working knowledge of what the Word of God actually says about equips these women to fight spiritual battles. Working as a stripper makes a woman vulnerableand exposed not just physically. Although, many may think of a prayer in the strip club is blasphemy the Word of God says: “The eyes of the Lord are in every place.” PROVERBS 15:3 AMP “If I ascend to heaven, You are there; If I make my bed in Sheol (the nether world, the place of the dead), behold, You are there.”PSALM 139:8 AMP
  2. To provide a source of hope and protection. “…that the Lord your God may show us the way in which we should walk and the thing that we should do.”
    JEREMIAH 42:3 AMP
    Studying the Word of God reveals what to hope and trust in. While working in a strip club, women are approached by different spirits seeking various things. These women need spiritual protection as men (and women) come in to exploit mental, emotional and spiritual immaturity. There are women with abandonment issues, low self-esteem, anger, and unforgiveness in their hearts which makes them dangerous to themselves and even the people around them at any given moment. Strippers experience a high rate of rejection and my develop in a people pleaser. It is very beneficial to a woman who works in this industry to know what God has said about her and her future to combat the negative self-image that develops as a result of becoming a stripper. Someone needs to tell the young women that the Bible says: “The Lord will make you the head (leader) and not the tail (follower); and you will be above only, and you will not be beneath, if you listen and pay attention to the commandments of the Lord your God, which I am commanding you today, to observe them carefully.” DEUTERONOMY 28:13 AMP.  Scriptures for Strippers is not used for judging and condemning. Working as a dancer is hard enough! I read Psalm 27 everyday before going inside the club for protection and I have never been harmed!
  3. To help women get to a place where they can discover their purpose. When the glamour is gone and facts of the lifestyle trump the fantasy and fallicy, depression and desperation can suddenly take hold of a woman who works as a stripper. A dancer who is desperate is dangerous to herself and others. She may think of robbery, murder or prostitution when she has endured nights where she did not make her quota or thinks of transitioning. So it is safe to say that after dancing for a while, many dancers may attempt to concoct an exit strategy. These are extremely difficult to execute without a strong sense of disclipline and laser sharp focus on her goals. The fast money is life changing and it is extremely difficult to replace the income she has become accustomed to generating. Only God, the Creator of Heaven and Earth, can reveal His plan for her life. This is the other reason I do not tell dancers to stop working in the club. After she has her own personal relationship with God, she will begin to behave differently and will be able to see a new plan develop for her life. Everyone is created for a reason and purpose.

    “for He delivered us and saved us and called us with a holy calling [a calling that leads to a consecrated life–a life set apart–a life of purpose], not because of our works [or because of any personal merit–we could do nothing to earn this], but because of His own purpose and grace [His amazing, undeserved favor] which was granted to us in Christ Jesus before the world began [eternal ages ago],2 TIMOTHY 1:3‭, ‬9 AMP

    It is important to remember that NO MATTER WHAT YOU HAVE DONE, you can call on God. Only the devil will present things and ideas to steal, kill and destroy. Remember that God has a plan for your future. Do not give up on yourself. When you feel like you have hit rock bottom, call on the chief cornerstone and let Jesus Christ lead you. God will hear your prayers and cries. Don’t take my word for it. The Bible says:

“~‘For I know the plans and thoughts that I have for you,’ says the Lord , ‘plans for peace and well-being and not for disaster to give you a future and a hope. ~‘Then you will call on Me and you will come and pray to Me, and I will hear [your voice] and I will listen to you. ~‘Then [with a deep longing] you will seek Me and require Me [as a vital necessity] and [you will] find Me when you search for Me with all your heart. ~‘I will be found by you,’ says the Lord , ‘and I will restore your fortunes and I will [free you and] gather you–“JEREMIAH 29:11‭-‬14‭, ‬16 AMP

Wanna learn more? Listen to the interview on the GWade Radio Show!

Order your copy of Scriptures for Strippers on Amazon or Barnes and Noble. Choose from 2 different cover options.

If you need immediate assistance, please contact http://www.4Sarah.net

All rights reserved

Copyright 2017 Sayuri Smith LLC.

Leave a Reply

