There is a viral video of U.S. representative for California’s 43rd congressional district Maxine Waters where she is requesting an answer to a specific question and when the answer was not given, she repeated the phrase “Reclaiming my Time” over and over again. As I watched her speak, it made me think of all the times I have allowed others to waste mine and I realized I need to be more like Auntie Maxine.

When working at the club, I was extremely efficient in spending the appropriate amount of time with a customer to maximize profitability. If a patron was not paying me to talk, I was being paid to dance. If I wasn’t being paid to dance, I was getting paid somewhere else. It was simple but unfortunately life isn’t that cut and dried. *sad face* I am currently working on a fictional novel based on my life, Dancability, which has me reflecting on how I have spent my time. This is mostly the result of having a huge issue with procrastination.

I remember working with ladies who would come to work with astronomical nightly quotas because they had a bill due in the next few days. They needed to make $800 that night or their rent would be late or would be in jeopardy of getting a visit from the repo man. I watched these ladies and made a point to slowly save up my money to avoid adding anxiety to the already stressful job of dealing with drunken men all night. Ugh. Because I planned some things and avoided certain issues, I could not see how I was procrastinating in other areas.

As a part of my new lifestyle, I have implemented a new way of living which starts with the concept of reclaiming my time. There are so many different things God has shown me I must accomplish but I keep finding “good reasons” to put them on the back burner. I am an ex-exotic dancer who has been out of the game for 2 years but still consider myself to be in transition because of the many changes I still need to make to be the new and improved me. After working in the strip club for so long, I have become accustomed to fast money. I could wake up with $60 and go to sleep with $600. There was no waiting for pay day or a pay check. I got cash in my hand after dancing my heart out. I could put off working all week if I wanted and still pay my bills on time. I would have to rest up in order to work so hard so what some people called procrastination, I called getting rested. Procrastination has taken a different form now that I do not dance anymore and it has been hard to pinpoint. I balance so many different items on my plate, I see I have to really manage my time and not stretch myself too thin because procrastination can come in looking like juggling. When you juggle, you have to divide your attention and when you look away from something, you have to set a date to return to it. When you don’t, it won’t get done and you will start a bunch of projects and finish none. You may sign up to help someone when you need that time for yourself. You will need to reclaim your time.

I hated to admit my issue with procrastination and my inability to properly prioritize my time. There are so many things I would like to accomplish that I now see that it is very important to strengthen this weakness to be victorious in my own life. In the back of my mind, I put things off just knowing they will get done (just like knowing my bills would be paid when I worked at the club). Working at the strip club empowered me to have complete control of my time which ironically hindred me from making the most of it because I always mismangaged it. Not working to a set schedule and being able to work whenever I wanted fed into my procrastination of taking care of less desirable tasks.

I find that the more I talk to God, the more focused my thoughts are and waste less energy. When your steps are ordered by God, you can do more with less.

“The steps of a [good and righteous] (wo)man are directed and established by the Lord, And He delights in his or her way [and blesses his path]. PSALM 37:23 AMP

Setting goals and deadlines for myself is essential to marking things off my to-do list and pushing procrastination out of the picture. I foucs on this scripture that tells me to seek guidance when I get off track and reminds me to get back on task. My list “counsels” me about what I need to be doing.

“Where there is no [wise, intelligent] guidance, the people fall [and go off course like a ship without a helm], But in the abundance of [wise and godly] counselors there is victory.” PROVERBS 11:14 AMP

“Let us test and examine our ways, And let us return to the Lord.” LAMENTATIONS 3:40 AMP

It is important to know that taking baby steps are the way to accomplish your goals. In the Focusing on Goals and Purpose chapter of Scriptures for Strippers, there is a place to list short term and long term goals. If you need a indepth plan of action, turn to page 289 and get busy filling in your overall goals, supporting goals, the action taken and the result. Whenever I am having issues with prioritizing projects, I ask God. He answered with this.

“But all things should be done with regard to decency and propriety and in an orderly fashion.” 1 Corinthians 14:40 AMPC

9625635

I hope this blog post has blessed you in some way. Please feel free to leave comments below or contact me with any question or suggestions for the blog.Get your copy of Scriptures For Strippers from the official website or from Amazon. Click the link below. https://www.amazon.com/stream/ref=nav_upnav_mobile_C_SearchAW

Follow on FB and IG @SayuriSmith #ScripturesForStrippers May God continue to bless and keep you.

All Rights Reserved Sayuri Smith LLC.

 

Leave a Reply

